SoCal Ragnar 2015

#Justshowup. This motto is used by this group called November Project. They wake up in the dawn and go work out at 6:30 am every Wednesday. crazy people right?…well im one of them though I wake up way earlier than most of them because I have to drive there -.-. Well they wanted to do SoCal Ragnar 2015. I managed to join in at the last-minute. exciting I was joining November Project who literally works out and wakes up early. the team name was called #beyondthebowl, because that’s where the workout is at. at the Hollywood bowl. they have told me I was leg 11, 23, and 35. 2 very hard and last one easy. total miles of 17.

Day 1 of Ragnar!!

i got to my destination for the van to meet up, van #1 was already in Huntington beach about to start(12:15pm). well my team was arriving one person at a time. it was in order (van 1)Jesse, Marilyn, Joey, Charles, Neal, Laura, Korey, Lewis, Jenna, Daniella, me, and Angel (van 2)….o and Orrin our driver 🙂 .  our van was stylish black. we got our car decorated with markers. and off we went to our destination. i was excited because i get to finally see who are these people who wake up at 630 to workout. i didn’t really expect some of them to know disney music. to the point. i was like wow and i was just quiet one -.-. but i did my best. we get to our spot and see vans decorated people squirting us. we got to exchange 6 where runner 6 will give it off to 7. we got our stuff ready took pictures, our bib # was 683, and bonded wth the team. about hr later, Laura came. she looked very strong her running. passed it to Korey and off we went, van #2 is on its way leading the run now. went to our next exchange waiting for Korey. once Korey finished, it was Lewis, Jenna, Daniella, then me. it was dark i needed my headlamp. it was 7 miles of running or me. not bad right. i was warming up, and few min later, Daniella came, passed me her slap bracelet and off i went, calmly. i turned around and i saw this girl start off fast. i tagged with her until we hit the hills. i was in front of her for about 4 miles. get this our first mile was 6.05 min pace. yeah i knew i will regret this….yes i was right. my course was just steep hills. up and up and up i went. nothing was downhill. i was sad after she passed me and i couldn’t do anything. last 3 miles were slower, but i had a few girls behind me like wtf Im slow :/ . so i made it to my next exchange and passed it off to Angel. i was coughing up a storm. i had a sore throat in which this case, the cold air wasn’t good for me. i had my NP buff, so that was good for me. i told the guys let’s go to our next exchange, i can recover more easily. by the time we made it to our next exchange, i saw the girl who killed me, i had to say thanks for it, i love competition. finally Angel came and digitally passed the slap bracelet to Jesse, and van 1 was off. we only had 2.40 of recovery, and eat. so we needed to act quick on where to go. we went to a restaurant where it was next to the ocean.we all talked, got to know each other more, and once we all finished eating, time to go to our exchange..because the other team was getting closer. on the way there, i tried to pass out. i managed to get 10 min of sleep idk about the others. even after we parked, I couldn’t sleep. we just need to get Korey ready for his next run.

Day 2 of Ragnar.

so we get to our parking spot. vans everywhere, we see runners passed out on the grass. i wish i could do that. but know, Laura was coming and passed the slap bracelet and off we were. these races go by soo quick that they are somewhat a blur to me 😦 . i remember waiting for Korey at the parking lot. i found my good friend Jen out there. i told her why is she a stalker. others spots, i have found the team bling babes, they didn’t know it was me but understood the voice XD . well it was my turn. my turn to run. i heard Danella yell out my name didn’t pay attention, but someone told me she was coming. i got ready, the slap passing was perfect. and off i went. i always feel like i get fast runners. it was horrible. i was wanna run calm 🙂 . well two guys were next to me we were going pretty fast. the course was downhill, then it went uphill. at this point, i know there is a guy behind me. I didn’t let him pass me. i was passing runners left and right. at the last stop light, i managed to pass 9 more. i got to the our exchange and passed it to angel. bam off he went. i was coughing bad again. i couldn’t do anything but calm myself. they had asked me how many have i killed, i told them 49 i believe. yeah a big number. i was shocked. we had finished our running, and it was time to rest. finally…at the beach of la Jolla. a few of us went outside to nap. it was 5 am. i only got maybe 30 min of sleep, and i don’t know how the other 2 managed to sleep more, but they did. all i did was take pictures and went walking talking to random people. i have to say it was pretty waking up at the beach, seeing the ocean. few hours later, Laura came and passed the bracelet to Korey and off he was. we stayed for a quick photo and off we went…umm we couldn’t get out. we started making plans on how to get Lewis to the next exchange. 💡 i suggested to run ahead and ride another van. which everyone agreed. so someone was friendly enough to let him in. and i ran back. it wasnt that far. i realized we could beat Korey with lewis on our van. we were on our way, worried korey would beat us, or Lewis wouldn’t make it on time. we saw korey running, but no lewis in our van. we yelled at korey “we don’t have lewis in our car!!!” im sure he thought we were joking around. we get to our destination and i start looking for lewis and he is in front of us, and we told him Korey is on his way. so we got to the exchange and bam the transition was made. we got lucky there. off we went to our next destination. Jenna was saying her knee hurts, so Danella switched legs wth her because hers was flat. It was Jenna turn, she wanted to someone else to run it, but we kept telling her if she can, she can run it without rushing it. she took it and went running. she’s a great runner, so we passed by her, and blasted her favorite music and showed an important blanket to her. i think that should motivate her. ok we got to our destination. im next. Orrin asked if he can run it with me. i said yeah sure. so at a distance i see Jenna, at a stop light. ready to beat 3 more runners. the signal switched from stop to go. Jenna ran to pass the bracelet. i got it. and off i went. i tried my best to go faster. i had stairs. but it was nothing. half way through, i can feel my ribs hurting. ugh must keep pushing. it was getting hot as well. i managed to kill 6. i passed it to angel and off he went. i see Orrin sprinting to angel im guessing it was because angel had the car keys. this is when i realized i was done with my part of Ragnar :'(. i went in the water so my calf can recover easily. i felt a little disappointment because i didn’t push myself as hard. well we get to the finish, parking was a hassle. we waiting for angel to get to the finish. 20 min later, we see him running. as the team started running with him, we finished together #beyondthebowl finished time was 24.51.24. it was a great race…not as much fun because i didn’t get to recover XD . anyways, we hanged out, talked ate PIZZA!!!! turns out we killed at least 550 runners, i mean look at our cars.

after all of this, we went to the hotel, i finally took my nap in the van. it was great :mrgreen:. we got to our room and they wanted to swim. so i tagged along. few hrs later, it was time to head out. i needed to go to a party after. i was tired.

this team was fun as hell. i would wish i can hang out with them. its not like i get to do this as much. what will my next race be with them? i dont know, but i will try to make time to race with them. #NovemberProject RULES!!

so this video is about us entering for the contest and try to win free entry for ragnar again. we lost, BUT it is great editing. 🙂

P.S. my camera deleted all of my images for some reason, so i had to borrow my teams image.

P.S.S so it turns out we got 3rd in our Regular Open Mixed.

3rd Place :D

Leave a comment