LA Marathon 2014

Every year i sign up for this marathon. to see how my running has progressed even if im getting better. and pay attention to the view i haven’t seen and well every year i usually bring a new person to this event call “Marathon.” :). this year was a big surprise to me and especially to my mom..aka the new marathon runner. she wanted to do a marathon ever since i have done one, but she didn’t seem possible. (she gets her own personal blog). anyways, this race was going to be big, as for me, i have hopefully trained properly for this marathon. as in run 20 miles or lower. i had a mental image of getting a decent time. The day came when we had to Los Angeles to pick up our bib the four of us went, my mom, my cousin, my sister, and me. every marathon i sign up for a marathon, i never will add my normal name, Y? because it will be it seems cool when they call you a different name. anyways, i always do this FORGET WHAT I PUT ON MY BIB. So i stood in line for my bib. when the guy pulled up my bib, it said “the dude. it sounded legit to the name for this race :). after that, we went to take picture, and see what else is there at the expo. as we were walking, and there was doing interviews and signing. Deena Kaster was doing autographs. so i stood in line, and i talked to her and got her autograph awesome. :). after this whole shinnanigon, we went to go eat Chicago style pizza, then back home.

it was race day. we had to wake up early as always and drive straight to dodger stadium. security was bigger as in we weren’t allowed to have bags,only see through bags. we got to our normal hangout spot, waiting patiently for 2 hrs before the race starts.1798283_805540639460719_34594128_n 1527054_805421756139274_507532524_ni see people walking that ik. too many moms from my moms group are starting to show up.jokily asking them if they are ready :). i saw the jumbo tron andi was paying attention in case

i come out……which i did (i should upload the vid here). it was 30 min before the race starts we start heading out our corral  waiting for us to move. took us 10 min to start the race. then we were off. i gave one final hug to my mom and told her good luck. since it took us 10 min to head to the start, i must now catch up to the other runners and get into my position. so mile 1-4, i was going fast. i hit the steep hill strong, im passing echo park and still looking strong. i always see the hotdog stand giving out free hotdog, which seems challenging to me. at mile 6, i hit the checkpoint at 8.29 pace. every mile every turn i take, i have flashbacks of that building. what happened to me during my other races. i hit mile 12, checking if Jimmy Kimmel was out there…no man always having no luck with these celebrities. anyways i went running at my normal pace, but here is when i started realizing i went out to fast:(. i can feel loosing energy.  but my gu shot was helping me out. so i started going at a calmer pace, knowing i wont PR. mile by mile i can imagine getting closer to the finish. mile 17 there was beer shots, i wish i wasn’t so focus to grab a shot…maybe next near i will..and the hotdog as well :).  at mile 20, i always try to go for a long kick, picking up the pace. its weird going faster. when people are expecting you to be tired by then. by mile 24, some moms were volunteering for this race. me being me, i passed them and forgot about them -.-.  mile 25 was all downhill. i looked at my pace and i was going at 6.25. damn downhills making me run fast. the last turn before the finish is the worse. its mile 25, then it turn so i still have to do the last mile as a straight…the dreadmill as runners call it.1972550_10151967903162647_589956293_n i didn’t want anything, just finish running. once i crossed, i raised my hand because i finish. i saw a friend who was volunteering at the finish. then i received my medal. i saw my time on my watch and it said 3.30. not my best time. oh well as others runners say it, i finish  anther marathon :). my 11th marathon in the bag.IMG_0119 IMG_0120

i grabbed my bananas, cliff bars, crackers, juice box, and my finish Photo. i went to the finish, hoping to find someone in the crowed. only found my uncle. so i called my dad wth his phone and told them i will be at the finish. in the grass or somewhere. i rested a bit, then i said y don’t i rest inside the gates and actually look for other people i know. so i walked all the way up to the point were i got my medal and waited for an hr. i saw my sister just finishing. she looked good walking this time. i talked to her, then got a pix of us together. then i told her i will be waiting for mom who is still running. within 7 hrs into the race, i see a skirt and a blue shirt…that’s her, that’s what she was wearing. so i rushed to go talk to her, and hugged her because it was her dream to finish a marathon. once we got our food, we went to find my dad. bam he was right there easy to spot. out of the three of us, she was the less sore -.-. even though my 11th marathon didn’t have a good time, i was still happy to say my own mother is a marathoner. and many more to come from her :’)

i do come out in this video as well its just hard to know where im at 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgTWQxW6iPc

look im famous

1891352_10203298724858231_754433835_o

Leave a comment